PhotonIcs and Electromagnetics Research Symposium,
also known as Progress In Electromagnetics Research Symposium
PIER Journals
Published by The Electromagnetics Academy

PIERS —— A global symposium committed to
advancing photonics and electromagnetics for the benefit of humanity.

PIERS Committee

PIERS Founding Chair


PIERS Conference Quality Committee Chair

  • Chair: Joel Johnson (Ohio State University)
  • Members: Simon Yueh (Jet Propulsion Laboratory), Kung-Hau Ding (Wright Patterson AirForce Laboratory)
  • Role: To monitor the qualities of PIERS Conference and the PIERS Conference Publications
  • contact Email:

PIERS Conference Publications Committee

  • Chair: Saibun Tjuatja (University of Texas at Arlington)
  • Members: Tien-Hao Liao (California Institute of Technology), Shurun Tan (University of Michigan)
  • Role: Processing conference papers and interface with IEEE.
  • The IEEE-GRSS has the following policies on conference publications. For details, please refer to the website. The policy is
    1. No-show papers are treated as rejected papers
    2. The minimum length of a paper is 3 pages
    3. GRSS will apply CrossCheck to all conference papers
    4. The papers should have no more than 40% overlap with prior publications

PIERS Young Scientists Award (YSA) Committee

  • Chair: Kazuya Kobayashi (Chuo University)
  • Members: Steven Chan (NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory)
  • Role: Establish policy and coordinate reviews of applications

The Electromagnetics Academy OFFICE

  • Suite 207
    777 Concord Avenue
    Cambridge, MA 02138, USA